FIRST HURDLE IN WRITING THE SECOND DRAFT

I’m working on a dream
Though sometimes it feels so far away
I’m working on a dream
And I know it will be mine someday

These are the lyrics to the title track of the 2009 album ‘Working on a Dream’ by Bruce Springsteen. This is the song I fall back on when I find myself in a bewildered stupor and need some mental solidity to endure it head on and overcome it. This week, I encountered my first hurdle in writing the second draft of my book, because of which I had to delete all the chapters I had written the previous week.

As I had mentioned in the last post that I had started working on the second draft and was three chapters in, this week I continued it only to realise that it neither felt right nor was it coming out as I wanted it to. I didn’t like it.

So, I took a day’s break to ponder over what the issue was and I realised that, till now, I was so engrossed in creating this fictional world that I lost myself somewhere in my own story and wrote the first draft from the beginning of the world, not the story.

Imagine Harry Potter being told from the birth of Tom Riddle. Yes, his birth and upbringing is an important part of the story, but the story is about Harry Potter, not Voldemort.

So, I revisited my notes, plot, and character sketches, and introspected. I discovered that because there are several important characters in my story, I wanted to shine a light on all of them, and in that want, I got lost.

After I re-examined my notes and it started to make a little sense, I decided to plot it all over again; I divided the chapters, contents of each chapter, shift POVs, and now, I am happy with it. It is what I need it to be and being prepared with a better strategy, I can proceed without putting too much pressure on my mind and improvise as I go ahead, and there is that first draft to back me up when I feel lost.

In terms of writing, I have a penchant for going longhand when I’m on the edge of a cliff and behind me is a big rock. So I did that, this week. Longhand writing is just the thing I resort to when I’m fed up of typing the words. It’s easier to get distracted on a computer than on paper, isn’t it?

Now you can see why Mr Springsteen helped me get through this tough week. I’m glad I got through this and I’ll be spending my day today transcribing all of it.

Furthermore, this week I wanted to tell a little about the book that I am writing and the premise of it, but I’ve been told that if a blog post is longer than 500 words, people don’t find it easy to read and quit. And as I see the word count while writing this sentence is 5 words over the limit, I’ll save it for next Sunday, I promise. But if you think you don’t mind longer posts, let me know in the comment section and I’ll think about it.

That’s it for today. I am off to the BYOB meet where I’ll be discussing Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell. I will see you next Sunday. Take care.

P.S.: Here is the Bruce Springsteen song. Enjoy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

